Desktop View

Updated: 20th October 2010 Written by / Poker News

poker hall of fameWorld Series of Poker have announced two new members for the Poker Hall of Fame, Erik Seidel and Dan Harrington will now make up the 40 members in this elite group of poker ambassadors. The new members will be inducted in a ceremony just before the WSOP final table in November.

There are now 18 living members of the initial 40 members elected, only one or two new members are elected each year.

Eight poker players were nominated for this years Poker Hall of Fame which include Phil Ivey, Daniel Negreanu, Chris Ferguson, Barry Greenstein, Scotty Nguyen, Jennifer Harman, Linda Johnson and Tom McEvoy.

Poker Hall of Fame 2010

The Poker Hall of Fame was established back in 1979 by the World Series of Poker, it was created to honor the poker legends who were the most influential players and contributors to the game of poker.

Hall of Fame Criteria

To be selected as a Poker Hall of Fame nominee players must have the required Criteria

  • A gambler who has played against the toughest of competition
  • High Stakes Poker player
  • Delivers consistent results and respect of fellow players
  • Must have stood the test of time.
  • Made significant contributions to poker which aids in growth and development of the game.

poker hall of fame 2010

Erik Seidel

Erik Seidel is the first Team Full Tilt Poker pro to be elected as a member of the Poker Hall of Fame. Seidel is a good choice for such an honor with some impressive achievements in his poker career.

8 WSOP bracelets - 60 WSOP cashes
1 WPT title - 3 final tables
Tournament Career Earnings more than $10 million

Dan Harrington

Know as Action Dan, Dan Harrington has 10 WSOP cashes he has made 5 final table appearance four of which were in the main event. He is the only player who has back to back final table appearance at the main event in 2003 & 2004.

10 WSOP cashes
4 WSOP main event final table
Author of poker strategy books - Harrington on Hold’em

Poker Hall of Fame members

  • Dan Harrington, 2010
  • Erik Seidel, 2010
  • Mike Sexton, 2009
  • Henry Orenstein , 2008
  • Duane Tomko, 2008
  • Barbara Enright , 2007
  • Phil Hellmuth , 2007
  • Billy Baxter, 2006
  • T.J. Cloutier, 2006
  • Jack Binion, 2005
  • Crandell Addington, 2005
  • Berry Johnston, 2004
  • Bobby Baldwin, 2003
  • Lyle Berman, 2002
  • Johnny Chan, 2002
  • Stu Ungar, 2001
  • Roger Moore, 1997
  • Julius Oral "Little Man" Popwell, 1996
  • Jack Keller, 1993
  • Amarillo Slim Preston, 1992
  • David "Chip" Reese, 1991
  • Benny Binion, 1990
  • Fred Ferris, 1989
  • Jack Straus, 1988
  • Doyle Brunson, 1988
  • Puggy Pearson, 1987
  • Henry Green, 1986
  • Red Hodges, 1985
  • Murph Harrold, 1984
  • Joe Bernstein, 1983
  • Tom Abdo, 1982
  • Bill Boyd, 1981
  • T. Blondie Forbes, 1980
  • Johnny Moss, 1979
  • Red Winn, 1979
  • Sid Wyman, 1979
  • Nick the Greek Dandolos, 1979
  • Edmond Hoyle, 1979
  • Wild Bill Hickok, 1979
  • Felton McCorquodale, 1979

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.